Honest review of CenterPoint Securities

New broker

After 3-4 years of downtime, I started trading penny stocks actively again May 1.

By June I’d already put up a $40,000+ month (not typical) in JasonBondPicks.

But I still felt like I was missing trades.

For years my broker has been TD Ameritrade — now Charles Schwab.

When it comes to trading penny stocks there’s 2 problems there:

  1. Can’t trade between 4-7am EST like you can at CenterPoint, Webull and Interactive Brokers

  2. Can’t short penny stocks (to short is to bet against a stock and make money if the stock goes down)

JasonBondPicks mostly alerts and buys penny stocks. But having the ability to short them is a nice tool in the toolbelt.

So after crushing it in June, I moved my money out of Charles Schwab and over to CenterPoint Securities.

At first I regretted it because learning DAS Trader (their software) was a bit overwhelming. I think we’re all creatures of habit, so change is hard.

But I stuck with it and I sure am happy I did.

Here’s my review of CenterPoint Securities. I am not an affiliate and will make no money if you switch over too.

  1. Learning DAS Trader (trading software) was a bit frustrating at times but I fount Centerpoint’s support to be unmatched

  2. Within a few weeks I saw the power of their ‘short penny stocks’ locate software and give this 10 out of 10 stars, it’s f’ing amazing

  3. I do a lot of option spread trading in the $2,000 Small Account Journey and there was a learning curve for order entries but no issues now (I wouldn’t be opposed to using TastyTrade for $2K SAJ)

  4. Back to penny stocks, you can hide trade size which is nice, executions are also lightning fast and NO slippage like Charles Schwab (i.e. my fills are precise, if I go for 5,000 shares at $2.03, they fill that under a second, it’s insane) so another 10 out of 10 on speed and fills — a month ago or so I went to buy 10,000 shares of a stock and Schwab jumped $.05, which is $500 of slippage etc…

  5. I’m an early bird and found trading between 4-7am EST a nice feature as I do my morning scans for JasonBondPicks and $2,000 Small Account Journey — in fact I made nearly $2,000 Friday short selling VSEE which was up 200% premarket but down the rest of the day — can’t trade at Schwab until 7am EST and good luck trying to short VSEE at Schwab, E*TRADE or Fidelity etc… CenterPoint delivers here and again 10 out of 10 for hours of operation (Webull and Interactive Brokers also trade form 4am EST - 8pm EST)

Friday’s 5-minute intraday chart of VSEE shows how active it was BEFORE 7am EST Friday morning… like I said, nearly $2,000 Friday for me, most of which came from short selling the pump and dump…

Shares went from upper $4’s to low $7’s at 5am EST, a great long penny stock trade — and then you could have gone short like I did across the rest of the day.

In summary, change is hard and even after I moved my money out of Schwab to CenterPoint, I resisted learning something new. But after forcing myself to give it time and stick with it, I’m thrilled I made the move and am already making more money trading than I could have had I stayed at Schwab.

I give CenterPoint Securities a 10 out of 10 for long / short penny stocks and options trading. Their fills, speed and functionality is exactly what I was looking for and a good fit for a guy like me who trades a lot.

DAS Trader (software) does what I need it to do but it gets 8 out of 10 for aesthetics both on desktop and the APP. My view here is aesthetics don’t make traders money, speed and precision fills with the ability to go long and short do.

Fees are competitive so no concerns there and the margin is a nice feature in which there’s no cost so long as you’re not holding overnight. Same with borrows, no interest if you’re out of the short by close.

Overall score is 9 out of 10 and I plan to continue using CenterPoint securities as my main broker.

Options trading blueprint for small accounts — learn more here

Eat, sleep and trade,

Jason Bond

This market with 63% price growth isn't just for billionaires anymore…

Over the last 20 years, record prices achieved for Banksy’s art have grown at an astounding 63% compound annual rate. Even more impressive? It's not just the ultra-wealthy benefiting from this phenomenal growth. Thanks to Masterworks.  

Masterworks enables its 820,000+ users to access investments in multi-million dollar artworks by artists like Banksy, Basquiat, and Picasso for just a fraction of the cost of an entire piece. 

When Masterworks sells a painting, like the 16 it’s already sold, investors can get a return on their investment. With 3 recent sales, Masterworks investors realized net annualized returns of 17.8%, 21.5% and 27.3%.

Every offering is limited, and shares can sell out in just minutes, but Jason Bond Picks readers can skip the waitlist with this exclusive link.

*Past performance is not indicative of future returns, investing involves risk. See disclosures masterworks.com/cd

Questions or concerns about our products? Email [email protected] 

© Copyright 2022, RagingBull

*Sponsored Content: If you purchase anything through a link in this email other than RagingBull services, you should assume that we have an affiliate relationship with the company providing the product or service that you purchase, and that we will be paid in some way. We recommend that you do your own independent research before purchasing anything. We believe in the companies we form affiliate relationships with, but please don’t spend any money on these products or services unless you believe they will help you achieve your goals

DISCLAIMER: To more fully understand any Ragingbull.com, LLC ("RagingBull") subscription, website, application or other service ("Services"), please review our full disclaimer located at https://ragingbull.com/disclaimer.

FOR EDUCATIONAL AND INFORMATION PURPOSES ONLY; NOT INVESTMENT ADVICE. AnyRagingBull Service offered is for educational and informational purposes only and should NOT be construed as a securities-related offer or solicitation, or be relied upon as personalized investment advice. RagingBull strongly recommends you consult a licensed or registered professional before making any investment decision.

RESULTS PRESENTED NOT TYPICAL OR VERIFIED. RagingBull Services may contain information regarding the historical trading performance of RagingBull owners or employees, and/or testimonials of non-employees depicting profitability that are believed to be true based on the representations of the persons voluntarily providing the testimonial. However, subscribers' trading results have NOT been tracked or verified and past performance is not necessarily indicative of future results, and the results presented in this communication are NOT TYPICAL. Actual results will vary widely given a variety of factors such as experience, skill, risk mitigation practices, market dynamics and the amount of capital deployed. Investing in securities is speculative and carries a high degree of risk; you may lose some, all, or possibly more than your original investment.

RAGINGBULL IS NOT AN INVESTMENT ADVISOR OR REGISTERED BROKER. Neither RagingBull nor any of its owners or employees is registered as a securities broker-dealer, broker, investment advisor(IA), or IA representative with the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission, any state securities regulatory authority, or any self-regulatory organization.

WE MAY HOLD SECURITIES DISCUSSED. RagingBull has not been paid directly or indirectly by the issuer of any security mentioned in the Services. However, Ragingbull.com, LLC, its owners, and its employees may purchase, sell, or hold long or short positions in securities of the companies mentioned in this communication.

RagingBull.com, LLC shall be entitled to recover attorneys’ fees, costs and disbursements. In the event that any suit or action is instituted as a result of doing business with RagingBull.com, LLC and/or its affiliates or if any suit or action is necessary to enforce or interpret these Terms of Service, RagingBull.com, LLC shall be entitled to recover attorneys’ fees, costs and disbursements in addition to any other relief to which it may be entitled.